Sometimes all we need is a little kindness

Writing about the start of my journey has brought back a lot of memories, most of which I prefer not to think about ,but believe it or not there are a handful which are not so bad there’s a particular one that can bring a smile to my face even now.

During my recovery I suffered from alot of headaches and felt nauseous almost all the time  due to all the new medications I was having to take,some of them also caused me to put on weight. It made me feel ugly and swollen. Not a nice way for an 11 year old to be thinking I know,but I wasn’t in a very good frame of mind. I was going through alot and knew I still had some way to go.

I remember one day my Mum was taking me off the ward so we could go and spend some time outside.It was a really warm summer and there were a couple of nice parks nearby that I liked to go and just sit and relax in. As we were going through the waiting room there was a lady sitting by herself I remember her looking up as we went by and smiling she said to me  “what a pretty girl you are” I didn’t know who she was,but in that moment she had made me feel beautiful again.Her kindness had lifted my mood and made me feel good about myself even if it was for just that day.

It’s something I’ll never forget. Those kind words from a stranger in one of my darkest moments. I just wish I’d stopped for a few seconds to tell her how much it meant to me.
Always be kind.                                          Smile at a stranger if they look like they’re having a bad day. Offer to help someone struggling with some heavy shopping bags or message a friend you haven’t spoken too in a while you never know whose day you could be making just that little bit brighter.

“Be kind whenever possible.

It is always possible.” 

– Dalai Lama


Daniella x x

Get In Touch

2 thoughts on “Sometimes all we need is a little kindness

Leave a Reply

