It’s my safety blanket

One of my favourite things to do is read, I’ve been a massive bibliophile for as long as I can remember,but reading is more of a comfort nowadays than it was when I was a child.

When I’m reading I can block out the world for a little while,leave myself behind and become whichever character I’m currently reading about. I can travel far away and live their “life”. When I’m in hospital and my parents have left for the night I can bury my head in a book and I dont feel so alone or scared anymore because I’m not in a dark hospital ward with machines beeping all around me, I’m a freaking assassin and I’m about to kick ass!

 

 

 

 

 

 

“A reader lives a thousand   lives before he dies,the man who never reads lives only one” –  George R.R. Martin

 

Friends often laugh at me when I tell them I’ve brought another book or my family will roll their eyes and sigh impatiently when I drag them into a book shop because they know we could be there for an hour. But for me reading isnt just a hobby, it’s also a hideaway. It’s my version of shutting myself in my bedroom,pulling the curtains and hiding under the duvet when I’m having a bad day. It’s my safety blanket.

When I read I can be anyone and do anything,I can go anywhere. I suppose in  a sense I can be “free” in a way that I can’t be in reality.

Daniella x x

Currently Reading

Get In Touch

2 thoughts on “It’s my safety blanket

Leave a Reply

